Officially Sworn-in as County Legislator for 2012-2013

I think most people believe that elected officials are sworn-in at a public ceremony around January 1, but that is not always true. Our procedure at the Westchester Board of Legislators is that newly elected or re-elected County Legislators are sworn-in by the Westchester County Clerk after the Board of Elections certifies the winners from Election Day.

Here are photos from my official swearing-in ceremony on December 22 with fellow New Rochelle resident, County Clerk Tim Idoni. You will notice a large book in the photos and all County Legislators are required to sign that book during the swearing-in, which contains the signatures of County Legislators going back decades. I was sworn-in with Catherine Borgia, who was newly elected to represent the 9th District. The Board of Legislators is also holding a ceremonial swearing-in at our first meeting for 2012 on January 9 at 7pm and please feel free to stop by.

I am also pleased to report that I was re-elected by the Republican County Legislators to continue serving as Minority Leader for 2012-2013. Gordon Burrows was re-elected to serve as Minority Whip. I greatly enjoy serving in the leadership and am very thankful to my colleagues for their vote of support and confidence.

Thanks again to all the great people from New Rochelle and Pelham that voted for me on Election Day. I know I was unopposed, but I am still honored by your kind support. I am very excited to begin serving my 8th term next week. Please keep in touch over the next two years. Your feedback on the issues facing Westchester always makes me a better and more effective County Legislator.

Jim Maisano
County Legislator
Minority Leader
914-636-1621
JimMaisano@gmail.com
About Jim Maisano

County Legislator for New Rochelle and Pelham and attorney for litigation, real estate, wills/probate. If you need my help with legal or legislative matters, call me at 914-636-1621 or email me at: CtyLegJimMaisano@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Jim Maisano. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Officially Sworn-in as County Legislator for 2012-2013

  1. Catherine W. says:

    Congrats Jim. You deserve it.

  2. Patty O'Connor says:

    Congratulations Jim, and thanks for all your efforts on our behalf.

Comments are closed.